Chamber Hosts Annual Dinner, Presents Scholarships, Elects New Board

The Chamber of Commerce presented Senior Business Leadership Scholarships to Mason Swaney (left) and Amanda Marsh while Brandon Lee (right) was the recipient of the Chamber’s Senior Scholarship for Promise and Achievement in the Arts.

The Lyme-Old Lyme Chamber of Commerce (LOLCC) held its Annual Dinner at the Old Lyme Country Club Wednesday, June 20.  Fifty-six people were present including state legislators, representatives from the Town of Old Lyme, and scholarship winners from Lyme-Old Lyme High School (LOLHS).
President’s Report
The business section of the meeting opened with the Treasurer’s report by Tim Griswold, followed by LOLCC President Olwen Logan giving a review of the 2017-18 Chamber year. She reported that the four main goals of the year had all been met or surpassed;

  • Increase Chamber Membership – Logan was pleased to announce membership has risen from around 60 in June 2017 to over 110 one year later.
  • Publish a new “Chamber Member Directory and Visitor’s Guide” – publication of the new full color, 44-page guide was completed in March.
  • Secure space for the Chamber in Old Lyme Town Hall – achieved with assistance from Old Lyme First Selectwoman Bonnie Reemsnyder and her Executive Assistant Cathy Frank.
  • Restoration of the Chamber-sponsored sign at the foot of the Exit 70 off-ramp was skillfully and carefully completed by Chamber member Sophie Marsh, who was honored with a bouquet in appreciation of her excellent work.

Logan also highlighted the many events organized throughout the year by the Chamber including Dinner Meetings at local restaurants, Business After Hours at a variety of locations, and Business Breakfasts.  She also mentioned some of the upcoming happenings through the summer, including Business After Hours at Lyme Art Association on July 18 and at the Bee and Thistle Inn on Aug. 15.

Chamber Scholarships Presented
Chamber Scholarships were then presented by State Representative Devin Carney (R-23rd) and State Senator Paul Formica (R-20th).  These were introduced by the Co-Chairs of the Scholarship Committee Russ Gomes and Olwen Logan.

The recipients of LOLCC 2018 Business Leadership Awards were Lyme-Old Lyme High School (LOLHS) seniors Mason Swaney and Amanda Marsh.

Lyme-Old Lyme High School Senior Brandon Lee was awarded the LOLCC 2018 Scholarship for Promise and  Achievement in the Arts.

The Chamber honored the Chamber Business Students of the Month from the 2017-18 school year at their Annual Dinner. From left to right, State Representative Devin Carney (R-23rd), Aoife Hufford, Ann Cote, Alex Montville, Scholarship Committee Co-Chair Russ Gomes, State Senator Paul Formica (R- 20th) and Olwen Logan, Chamber President and Scholarship Committee Co-Chair. Missing from photo, Patrick Looney.

Also honored at the meeting were the four Business Students of the Month, namely

  • Patrick Looney
  • Alex Montville
  • Ann Cote
  • Aoife Hufford.

The Chamber was delighted that the Co-Chair of the LOLHS Business Department Joanne Hedwall and the Chair of the LOLHS Art Department Will Allik were also able to attend the dinner.

Election of New Slate of Board Members
Finally, a new slate of board members was presented and then voted into office unanimously.  The officers for the year starting July 1, 2018 will be Rich Shriver, President; Joann Lishing, Secretary; and Tim Griswold, Treasurer.  The Board of Directors will be Dan Henderson, Jean Wilczynski, Gene Chmiel, Doug LoPresti, Heather Gagnon, and Suzanne Thompson.

Incoming President Shriver thanked outgoing President Logan for her leadership and many accomplishments and also thanked Gail Stevens for her contributions during her service on the board of directors.

The Old Lyme Country Club served a delicious meal in the beautiful main dining room and an enjoyable evening was had by all.